School Calendar

IMPORTANT DATES 2017-18

Parents & Teachers Meeting
Tuesday, September 5, 4:00-5:00PM
Classes Begin
Wednesday, September 6
Staff In-Service
Monday, October 16 (NO SCHOOL)
Conferences
Monday, November 20 and Tuesday, November 21 (NO SCHOOL)
Thanksgiving Break
Wednesday, November 22–Friday, November 24 (NO SCHOOL)
School Resumes
Monday, November 27
Winter Break
Wednesday, December 20-Tuesday, January 2 (NO SCHOOL)
School Resumes
Wednesday, January 3
Martin Luther King, Jr Day
Monday, January 15 (NO SCHOOL; MLK Family Day of Service/Morning)
Staff In-Service
Friday, February 16 (NO SCHOOL)
Presidents’ Day
Monday, February 19 (NO SCHOOL)
Spring Gala & Auction
Saturday, March 17, 6-10PM at Manufacturers’ Golf & Country Club in Fort Washington
Conferences
Thursday, March 22 and Friday, March 23 (NO SCHOOL)
Spring Break
Monday, March 26-Friday, March 30 (NO SCHOOL)
School Resumes
Monday, April 2
Memorial Day
Monday, May 28 (NO SCHOOL)
Last Day of School Toddler & Children's House
Wednesday, June 6
Last Day of School Elementary / Sixth Grade Graduation
Thursday, June 7 (10AM Graduation; NOON Dismissal)

SCHOOL TRADITIONS & EVENTS

Parents & Teachers Meeting
Just before school begins, classroom guides share information with parents about classroom routines and school “nuts and bolts”. Parents receive school materials and can ask questions about the curriculum. (Adults only.)

Toddler Tea
Over the course of the year, parents of toddlers are invited to meet with the Toddler Guides to learn about the Toddler program and learn more about raising Toddlers.

Fall Festival
In October, families come together for an afternoon of food, fun and fall activities for children.

Journey and Discovery
Journey and Discovery is a unique Parent Education event designed for parents and other guests to experience the progression from one level of learning to the next, and how they interconnect. We require new parents and strongly recommend returning parents to attend in order to discover the elegance and value of a Montessori education.

Picture Day
Every year, a professional photographer comes to photograph children individually and their classes.

Global Celebration
In the winter, an evening is set aside at TMS to celebrate our international community through food and entertainment. Families are encouraged to dress in their national styles and bring their favorite food.

Special Persons’ Days
Three days are reserved each year for the purpose of inviting grandparents, aunts or uncles and other special friends to visit their Kindergarteners in Children’s House, Lower Elementary or Upper Elementary grandchildren (or nieces or nephews). The adult guests are invited to be in the classrooms at TMS, meet Guides and learn more about the Montessori method.

Bingo Night
Ever-popular with the children and run by the Sixth Graders, Bingo Night is a family-fun event of bingo, food, raffles and prizes.

School Performance
The Upper Elementary students provide entertainment in the form of a play or musical for school families and guests each spring. Other Elementary performances by are held informally throughout the year in response to the curriculum.

Spring Gala & Auction
Our biggest fundraiser event, the Spring Gala & Auction, provides a fun way to socialize with other parents. Don’t miss this opportunity for good food, music, and bidding on great auction items to benefit TMS. Adults only.

End-of-the-Year Picnic
All families are invited for a picnic outdoors. Students and families have an opportunity to celebrate another great school year!

Color Day
Scheduled for the outdoors in late spring, Color Day is for the enjoyment of fun, age-appropriate activities. The morning is filled with activities to challenge Elementary students while practicing teamwork and problem-solving skills.

Sixth Grade Graduation
In June, the Board of Trustees, faculty/staff, school families and guests of sixth graders attend a ceremony that marks the culmination of the sixth grade experience at TMS. The Kevin Wallace and Arnold Frank Zeleznik Citizenship awards are also presented.