The Montessori School’s Board of Trustees is responsible for establishing broad policy, goals that align with and advance the school’s mission, vision, and strategic goals. The Board is also responsible for the school’s financial stability, establishing and maintaining bylaws that conform to legal requirements, hiring and overseeing the Head of School, and focusing its primary work on long-range, strategic issues. Currently, our Board is focusing on the sustainability of four pillars important to the school: Environmental, Financial, Program, and Community.

The Board of Trustees is comprised of no less than eight and no more than 22 members. Trustees serve for a three-year term with a limit of three terms. Trustee nominations must be approved by three-fourths of the Board. Trustees meet monthly for board meeting business as well as once a year at the strategic planning retreat.

Trustees also serve on one or more of the Board’s standing committees: Committee on Trustees; Finance and its subcommittee, Buildings and Grounds; Development; and the Head’s Advisory Committee. Special or ad hoc committees may be created in any given year. These committees are given a finite lifetime that coincides with the conclusion of their duties. Read more about standing committees. 

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of The Montessori School. Its members have a significant commitment to the school and its welfare. The Chair of the Board heads the Executive Committee.  

Read the latest Board letter and news here.

Karen Walsh P'16, Chair
Committee on Trustees, Head’s Advisory Committee
Sue Zaharchuk
Sue Zaharchuk P'05, '07, '09, Vice Chair
Development Committee, Head’s Advisory Committee
Julia Levin
Julia Levin ’02, Secretary
Committee on Trustees
Kimberly Burke P'20
Rashida Welbeck P'22, '24, '28

Laura Stulb, Head of School
Donna Kyle, Business Manager

Jeff Adams P’09, ’12
Tai Chang P’18
*Larry Chapman, Jr, Board of Trustee service 1998-2016
Sean Cook P’18
Lucinda Duncalfe P’12, ’15
Purvi Farahi P’17, ’20
Bil Kasenchar P’15, ’17, ’20
Suzette Mahoney
Colleen Mele P’13, ’15, ’17
Ron Moore, GP
Tracey Sandmeyer P’02, ’05
Elizabeth Sawyer P’09, 12, 16
Diana Shi P’25
Phoenix Wang P’16

P for Parent indicates graduation year of child
GP indicates Grandparent
* deceased